Home > android app > Advanced Phone Log 1.0.0 Released

Advanced Phone Log 1.0.0 Released

A week ago, I was having dinner with a couple of friends. All of them use iPhone except me. One of  them told me he is looking for an app which could calculate the talk time for him, so he can use it to check against the phone bill. He said he cannot find one at Apple app store.

I immediately said, “I’m going to develop one for Android, switch to Android to use the app, dude.” Ok, that was a joke. But I did start to build such an app – Advanced Phone Log.

When I was developing the app, many ideas come to my mind. People needs to see the phone call time, the person’s name, talk time, and so on. People may also want to view only miss call or incoming call or outgoing call, or even miss call within last 3 days. In a word, the app must allow people to view whatever he/she wants.

So I designed the app to allow people to filter and sort the phone logs. People can specify call type, start time, end time, namd and number to filter call logs. People can sort the phone logs by time, name, talk time. There’re also a couple of built-in filters named shortcut, including all incoming call, all miss call, all outgoing call, previous month’s logs and current month’s logs.

The app also calculate the total talk time and number of phone calls for whatever is displayed, so I can show off to my friends and ask them to switch to Android. Winking smile

There’re several more functions in my mind for future releases. People needs privay, so private logs will be added. People wants to delete phone logs easily, the app will take care of it in future. Maybe backup function as well…

As usual, any comments and suggestions are welcome!

Categories: android app Tags:
  1. dug
    November 30, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    Hey your excellent phone log app is very much what people are looking for right now (late 2010). But is there a way to make it the default log app? That is, can I make it so that when I tap “log” in the phone app, I see YOUR log instead of the default android log? (I’m on an Epic 4G).

    Thanks!

    Doug

  2. November 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    That’s a good idea, Doug. But I’m not sure whether it can be done or not. I’ll look into it, and if it can be done, I’ll make it as a feature.

  3. dug
    November 30, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    maybe something like the home switcher app onb the market? Totally guessing here. Home Switcher (for Froyo) by the programmer at http://stackrmobile.com/blog/ could perhaps be a model for a logs switcher app — you pick one log app as the default. Although I’m not sure the Logs aspect of the phone app is a distinct program…

    • December 1, 2010 at 2:00 am

      Thank you for the links. And phone log might not be a distinct program, but a part of contacts program. Anyway, I’ll investigate and if it can be done, I’ll do it.

  4. Chad
    December 28, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Took about 20 seconds to get past black screen when I opened the app, then when trying to use the app it wold force close, caused problems with trying to make a call. seems like just what i was looking for if it worked well…. Thanks Chad

    • December 28, 2010 at 3:59 am

      Hi, Chad. Thank you for the feedback. Do you have photos for most of your contacts and you have a lot of phone logs?
      What is the problem when you are trying to make a call? Hang or crash?

      In addition, what is your Android version?

  5. February 27, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    hi, its a very nice application. i would like to be able to use with gingerbread 2.3. please update.

    • March 18, 2011 at 5:04 pm

      I’ll update it once i’m back to Android dev on school holiday.

  6. Rich
    March 8, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I installed your phone log app and it is just what I was looking for, but I uninstalled because the contact pictures and fonts were all very big and blurry.
    Seems the resolution on my samsung android intercept android version 2.1.1 is not right.
    Have you had anyone else mention this?
    Thanks

    • March 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

      ya, several users have mentioned this. I’ll update it once I’m back to android dev at school holiday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

